What to do after getting a DWI in New Mexico?

This question can be overwhelming and confusing. Clear2DriveTM is here to clear things up for you and tell you all about New Mexico DWI laws! Let us help get you back on the road.

What Happens With Dwi Laws New Mexico

In New Mexico, it is against the law to drive with a breath or blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher if you are 21 years of age or over. If you are under the age of 21, .02, or higher. Or .04 if you have a CDL (commercial driver’s license). If your test is at or above the legal limit, or if you refuse to test, in most cases, you will lose your license for a year. However, you can still be convicted of DWI even if your test shows you are under the legal limit. This would happen if it’s proven- even to the slightest degree- that your driving capabilities were impaired. At the time of arrest for DWI, your license will be confiscated on the spot, and you will receive an Implied Consent for 20 days before a revocation takes effect.

New Mexico DWI Laws

New Mexico law requires all drivers who are convicted of DWI to install an ignition interlock device in order to regain driving privileges. We have state specialists standing by to help you navigate New Mexico MVD forms and to help you get back on the road. Regarding DWI in New Mexico, the difference is clear with Clear2DriveTM.

New Mexico Dwi Interlock Laws

A New Mexico driver’s license can be revoked for both an Implied Consent and/or a DWI conviction through a criminal court. According to New Mexico DWI interlock laws, the Ignition Interlock License authorized by §66-5-503 is available during this revoked time for DWI. The revocation periods are as follows:



Implied Consent
– 6 months for failing a chemical test
– 1 year for refusing a chemical test
-Under 21- 1 year for failing or refusing a chemical test

Criminal Conviction
-1 year



Implied Consent
2nd or Subsequent Offense
– 1 year for failing a chemical test or refusing a chemical test

Criminal Conviction
-2 year



Criminal Conviction
-3 year



Criminal Conviction

For issuance of an Ignition Interlock License, you will also need to provide these additional items.

Proof of financial

MVD-10456, Affidavit For
Ignition Interlock License

Reinstatement fees

The First Step To Getting You Back On The Road

If you have a New Mexico MVD or court order to install an interlock device, complete the Clear2DriveTM New Mexico Interlock Application to start your installation process by selecting Start Here.
The material provided on this website is for information only and is not intended to provide legal guidance. Please consult your attorney and/or state authorities for specific details and instructions as needed.


It is an in-car breathalyzer that measures how much alcohol your breath contains. You may have heard them called anything from in-car breathalyzers to car interlocks or even blow-and-goes. Based upon DWI laws in New Mexico, BAIIDs are used to prevent drivers from starting their vehicles while under the influence of alcohol. When a device registers test results above a pre-set limit, the vehicle just won’t start.

The device requires servicing and re-calibration every 30 to 60 days by an authorized service center. This is according to the DWI laws in New Mexico. Our Clear2DriveTM AAS 2.0 device exceeds the calibration stability requirements as set forth in the NHTSA Model Specifications under DWI New Mexico laws. You may be required to perform periodic breath tests while driving. However, a BAIID won’t ever stop your vehicle while you’re driving.

The average expense of having a BAIID is $3 per day. However, aid for low-income drivers is available in the state of New Mexico. On the other hand, you could choose not to drive at all. But be aware that there can be very strict penalties imposed if you drive on a revoked license. Also, a conviction could lead to additional fines, a longer sentence, and even some jail time.
When you choose Clear2DriveTM, you can count on us to guide you toward successful IID program completion as required by the DWI laws in New Mexico. And this will occur both on time and free of any hidden costs. With a top-rated interlock company like ours, you’ll be getting the advantage of:
  • A trained and certified installation team
  • An easy-to-use interlock device
  • A transparent upfront fee structure
  • Expert 24/7 customer support via chat, email, phone, or text

Contact form

Start Here

Call Now ButtonCall Now Skip to content