Arizona DUI laws demand ignition interlock device (IID) installation for DUI offenders. It is a drunk driving prevention strategy.
If you are a DUI convict, you face a possible IID modification
for your car.
In Arizona, people who are 21 or older, can get a DUI charge for impaired driving if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above. For commercial vehicle drivers, the level is 0.04%. For people under 21, it is 0.00%.
When you’re suspected of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will receive a field sobriety chemical test. Refusing to take the DUI Arizona test often results in more penalties.
The most common penalty is a one-year driving license suspension for first-time offenders. For repeat offenses, you can get a two-year suspension. Here’s a breakdown of the penalties based on the offense:
• First-time offender- Jail time from 24 hours to 10 days, $250 base fine, license suspension from 90 days to 1 year, interlock ignition device installed
• Second-time offender- Jail time from 30 days to 90 days, $500 base fine, license suspension for 1 year, interlock ignition device installed
• Third-time offender- Jail time of 4 months minimum, $750 base fine, license suspension for 1 year, interlock ignition device installed
A DUI verdict leads to IID installation requirements even for first-time offenders. You will need to
install one in your vehicle immediately after you receive the order. Only MVD licensed vendors
can install your device.
The regulations demand that you keep a regular schedule for maintenance. Your DUI interlock
device Arizona vendor takes care of that.
Only approved IID vendors can install and maintain your device. At Clear2Drive, we can assist you in satisfying an IID court order. As your vendor, we train you, do routine maintenance, and submit your DUI Arizona reports. Finally, when the time comes, we will remove your device.
The MVD provides information on DUI interlock device Arizona vendors near your area. They also display the respective cost implications with each.
Once you get the device on your dashboard, you will need to go back for inspection regularly. The Arizona ignition interlock law recommends a repeat check every 77-90 days.
Interfering with your IID is detectable. Your device can detect tampering, malfunction, or circumvention.
Court conviction for DUI in Arizona leads to license revocation or suspension. With a license revocation, you cannot drive. Once your restriction period expires, you can apply for reinstatement of your license. For suspensions, your driving privileges get temporary removal for things like driving to and from work. After the period is over, you can apply for reinstatement.
To get a license reinstated, you will have to complete an MVD investigation packet. A review process will follow, and you will get a re-application permission notice through the mail. Follow the instructions therein to complete the reinstatement process.
For DUI revocations due to drugs or alcohol, you’ll need an SR-22 form. It’s your proof of future financial responsibility. Take proof and notice to any MVD office or official third-party offices. Note that there are charges. Besides the application fee, you’ll pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
If you’d like to get back on the road after a DUI conviction, adhere to the laws and rules. You need to work with an approved DUI interlock device vendor. Contact us now and get your driving privileges back!